About Bulgaria

About Bulgaria


Bulgaria is located in Southeastern Europe, in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula. The country is bordered by Romania to the north, by Serbia and Macedonia to the west, and by Turkey and Greece to the south. The Black Sea is its natural boundary to the east.

Area: 111 001.9 m2

Population: 6 447 710 (2022)

Capital: Sofia

Official language: Bulgarian

Alphabet: Cyrillic

Currency: The monetary unit is the Bulgarian Lev (BGN), which is pegged to the Euro: EUR 1 = BGN 1.95583

Time zone: GMT +2:00 hours

Public holidays

January 1st – New Year
March 3rd – Day of Liberation of Bulgaria from Ottoman Rule
May 1st – Labor Day
May 6th – St. George's Day, Day of the Bulgarian Army
May 24th - Day of Bulgarian Enlightenment and Culture and of Slavonic Alphabet
September 6th – Unification Day
September 22nd – Independence Day
November 1st   – Day of the Bulgarian Revival Leaders
December 24th – Christmas Eve
December 25th and 26th – Christmas Day, Nativity of Christ
Easter – four days (Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday), which are determined in the year of celebration.